Sputnik V vaccine OK’d in 42 countries


The Russian coronavirus vaccine Sputnik V has been approved in Angola, Djibouti and the Republic of Congo, according to the Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF).

Registration of the drug was carried out as part of an accelerated procedure (emergency use authorization, EUA). Thus, Sputnik V has already registered 42 countries with a total population of more than 1.1 billion people.

“Vaccination is a major condition for coping with the pandemic. The registration of Satellite V in Angola, Djibouti and the Congo will allow partners access to a safe and effective drug that is highly trusted and used around the world. Diversification of national portfolios of drugs against coronavirus thanks to the registration of the Satellite V vaccine is an important example of international cooperation, the main result of which will be saved lives, “said Kirill Dmitriev, RDIF CEO.

Currently, the use of the Satellite V vaccine has also been approved in Russia, Belarus, Argentina, Bolivia, Serbia, Algeria, Palestine, Venezuela, Paraguay, Turkmenistan, Hungary, the UAE, Iran, the Republic of Guinea, Tunisia, Armenia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Republika Srpska (entity of Bosnia and Herzegovina), Lebanon, Myanmar, Pakistan, Mongolia, Bahrain, Montenegro, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Gabon, San Marino, Ghana, Syria, Kyrgyzstan, Guyana, Egypt, Honduras, Guatemala, Moldova and Slovakia.